Rose

A damaged rose still grows in the sunlight

Those missing pedals make it special in it’s own right

Take it without its thorns and you miss something genuine

So take time and respect the flower

The beauty brings you smiles in your darkest hours

Not its intent though

It is just a rose

Imperfect perfections are the only thing that it knows

It makes you feel loved

The color of blood

Drawn out of your fingertips

This is the one

I feel pain but I still wish to gain your love

I feel connected to you

This bud was my way to get the message to you

Don’t let it dry out

Don’t let it dry out

A stem cracked in half and pedals cover the floor

This rose meant something to me but you mean so much more

Drain the water that gives it life

Wonder what the intent is

Feelings are feelings

But my rose is still living

 

Leave a comment